Intersex and Transsexual, two groups that say no to the transgender paradigm

I started writing a response on Sophia’s blog and it grew into something I wanted to post here. I think it’s very important that people with transsexual and intersex backgrounds develop a relationship that respects our differences and supports each other. Mostly it’s the “transsexual” (transgender) side that needs to learn respect. And even more precisely, it’s about putting a stop to the transgender politicians who reach through us transsexual people to colonize intersex lives. Someone could probably write about politically constructed and medically constructed identities here, but I think they are one and the same.

In any case, we need to put a stop to this colonization right now. I am sick of hearing the bleating of transgender types who think they do no harm by speaking for all of us. They are playing right into the hands of their enemies, who are now our enemies. Their blind refusal to admit this and the continued insistence they they be allowed to speak for us is all the evidence anyone should need for why there should be no “I” added to the end of GLBT.

Life is about living.

It is our lived experience that make us who we are. The origins of our gross anatomy or our brain structure are of no importance by themselves. It is how they affect the course of our lives that matters.

The plain fact is that those who were attacked by brutal social institutions while still in infancy have a different life course than those who weren’t. Intersex has been defined by the white-coated types who want to cut the world into neat little pieces. That is to say, the category of intersex as it is today would not exist if not for people who want to deny the humanity of others.

Those who think intersex is some kind of free pass on their behavior are not only participating in the victimization of their fellow human beings, but they are missing the point. Intersex has become a way to institutionalize brutality. The Chicago “consensus statement” on just who is and isn’t intersex (read normal/human) proves that. (edit to add- Why does all this stuff seem to come out of Chicago???)

The category has changed from an item of passing scientific interest to a social crusade designed to wipe out everyone who is different in some way. The 5 alpha nonsense from McGinley’s ridiculous study is part and parcel of this attack. It is also a sign of the times that we focus on process over fact, something that sustains these crusades in the face of all reason and evidence to the contrary.

It is not commonality of birth that unites all the people into a “group” (a term I am learning to hate). Who defines the group in the first place? Is it we in the world, or they in the labcoat? In this case, the group that is forming in reaction to continued attacks on the existence of its members forms out of necessity. It is the common struggle. That is why, I think, people with completely different lives that are lumped together as intersex in the first place are turning to one another and beginning to say “No!” to the parasitic medical industry that demands they be brutalized physically and emotionally. The only thing that “intersex” people have in common in many cases is the fight for human dignity in the face of the proverbial implacable enemy. There is a quote from C.S. Lewis that comes to mind here:

“It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron’s cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

But in the case of intersex , the whitecoated ones torture for *society’s* good, and in a few of the more egregious cases, for that person’s cynical personal career aspirations. Those who do harm to others to advance their own status deserve special vilification, because they are the ones lighting the torches for the mob.

Does it matter if I discover magically I have an “intersex” condition in addition to, or as the cause of, the course my life took? Only to me. I want an explanation for why I am the way I am. But that is academic, and of use only for personal comfort… and in some cases a matter of leverage to gain recognition from our backward government entities when they are finally forced to accept that being born different is an immutable condition. (I am not holding my breath over on this side of the pond) We all seem to live under governments that demand we prove we are human beings before they will allow us to exist in their paperwork.

Our problem is a failure in government and in society’s institutions. It is not a lack of science per se. I do think science can be used as a tool, as part of a larger political strategy to defeat our common adversary that seems to think it can use science to torture us. That probably deserves a closer look at some point.

But if tomorrow some lab report my doctor ordered said I had what they consider an intersex, so what? THEY think so, but what do *I* think? And that is the cental problem of having institutions define us as human beings. It is a step on the road to dehumanizing a population. Where have we seen this sort of thing before?

I don’t put weight on lingo and technobabble simply because it comes from some pseudo-medical field. I am not impressed with unearned authority, or indeed authority of any kind. I see the problem of intersex the same way as Sophie does, I think. It is they who think babies are socio-medical emergencies. They, the professional medical types, whip parents into a frenzy. Their job is to do no harm, and they should be calming worried parents, not exploiting them. They violate every principle of human decency and dignity when they attack infants. I have no respect for people like that: They should know better, why don’t they? I am convinced that some of them do, but still persist.

My life with a transsexual background is a completely different experience than someone who has lived through an “intersex” experience with whitecoated adversaries. The problem is spreading now as the villains have moved into government. They are banding together, the faux religious bigots, the fading culture warriors, and the profiteers. So must we.

We intersex and transsexual people must stand together in opposition to the vile people who demand our extinction. The scoundrels that hide their villainy with the veneer of medicine, psychiatry, and academia must be confronted and their agendas exposed. I include transgender politicians in this category, because they want us to stop existing as who we are and become what they want instead.

What unites us in struggle is the fight against the violence done to us. Physical violence inflicted on infants and children by surgery, and by parents acting in ignorance. Social violence committed by those who torture us into extinction. And political violence that seeks to consume us. Every one of us has experienced some of these things. Some of us have experienced all of them, and continue to do so every day. It is time for this evil that men do to end.

Resist.

11 Responses to Intersex and Transsexual, two groups that say no to the transgender paradigm

  1. SA-ET says:

    Hi Aria…

    Yet another absolutely splendid post. When reading the intersex blogs, I have great empathy for them in their fight to resist their identity being appropriated by groups, specifically the transgender, in which they do not wish to belong.

    We have much in common with the intersex, yet we are different. Hopefully they will stand with us, yet separate, in our mutual disgust in having our identities appropriated by the GLBT.

    Keep up the good work…it’s great.

  2. cassandraspeaks says:

    Transsexual is a type of intersex condition. If the brain sex was identifiable at birth and in a visible location I’m sure these surgical crackpots would “lop it off”
    We are more naturally aligned with intersex than TG, we have much more common ground.
    The TG like all men see the world in terms of heirachy. Essentially they are crossdressers, transvestites who don’t like that label so went looking up the ladder for transsexual, now they think they’ve erased that they have their sights set on intersex. Just watch as Autumn Sandeen leads the charge when he lies about his Kleinfelters test results and the mob follows suit.
    The TG wear these labels like fashion statements. They don’t care who they hurt, like all men they will seek to dominate and take up space, our space. OH no, not a second time, this time we resist.
    Great article Aria, congratulations.

  3. […] Intersex and Transsexual, two groups that say no to the transgender paradigm « Ariablue's Blog ariablue.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/intersex-and-transsexual-two-groups-that-say-no-to-the-transgender-paradigm – view page – cached #RSS 2.0 Ariablue's Blog » Intersex and Transsexual, two groups that say no to the transgender paradigm Comments Feed Ariablue's Blog Angie Zapata as fodder for Transgender politics Collaborators — From the page […]

  4. Zoe Brain says:

    cassandraspeaks –
    “Just watch as Autumn Sandeen leads the charge when he lies about his Kleinfelters test results…”
    – Your words there remind me far too much of the hate-filled paranoia of dirtywhiteboi.

    “We are more naturally aligned with intersex than TG, we have much more common ground.”
    – I agree completely.

  5. cassandraspeaks says:

    The difference is though Zoe, I don’t hate Autumn Sandeen! I just don’t trust them or believe much of what they say. I’ve also been around long enough to see how the TG mind works. I watched the colonisation of transsexual by TG. Trick me once shame on you trick me twice shame on me! I won’t be fooled again. That’s all no hate, no paranoia, just no trust.

  6. Jessica says:

    I’m not sure I agree with this part of your post:

    ****Does it matter if I discover magically I have an “intersex” condition in addition to, or as the cause of, the course my life took? Only to me. I want an explanation for why I am the way I am. But that is academic, and of use only for personal comfort****

    I suppose if I were to discover I had an “intersex” condition, it would take my transsexuality ‘out of my head’ and ‘into my body,’ as it were.

    I really don’t feel the stigma I would seem to have to feel because of my diagnosis.

    I AM concerned by the other issues raised in your blog; I have written about many of them

    Yet, the visceral hatred eminating from both the blog and comments is something that, quite frankly, frightens me.

    I, myself, am not so concerned with either knowing WHY I’m the way I am and the very real evils done to me–both as an INDIVIDUAL and as a woman of transsexual history–because I’m able to work on my life.

    And with some success.

    Continuing from the cite I made from your blog:

    ****and in some cases a matter of leverage to gain recognition from our backward government entities when they are finally forced to accept that being born different is an immutable condition.****

    This illuminates a significant difference between my government and yours–and the political systems–particularly in the area of health care. Not that mine is perfect, but I have received MUCH from both the SYSTEM and INDIVIDUALS.

    This is another reason why I cannot feel the hatred I sense in so much of what I read from Americans.

    I can no more help my perspective on these issues than can you, nor to comment on what is most evident to me.

  7. […] Transgender Coalition is Dead Posted on August 29, 2009 by Jasper Gregory Aria, Sophia and others who call themselves Classical Transsexuals resent the LGBT identity politics […]

  8. huitzillitamaqui says:

    Excellent post

    I agree with you, completely.

    Me resisto a ser un producto social, un producto sexual, un producto de consumo. Me dicen “renegada” solo por defender mi realidad, mis verdades, junto con más personas que coincidimos en ello.
    Por nuestro bien tenemos que resistir y si es preciso hablar aunque a la dictadura glbt le de miedo y nos ofenda, persiga, minimice, agreda.

    Resist!

  9. If I said I’ve been around enough intersexed people to know how the intersex mind works, cassandraspeaks, would you take offense? So can I say I was somewhat disquited with the idea that you know how I think and believe when I don’t know you at all?

    Honestly, I had a genetic test done at the urging of one of my medical providers. After seeing my trans peers and I slammed yet again by yet another public figure, I spoke about wishing I wasn’t trans…wishing that I turned out to be intersex because there seems, from the outside looking in, to be more space for intersexuals than for transsexuals.

    I’m well aware that the reality of how intersex people are seen is not much better than how trans people are seen: Just look how many in the IAAF and the media are treating potential intersexual Caster Semenya — they question her sex and gender as well.

    I guess my point is that if one doesn’t fit into the male and female binary, then many folk do treat you like so much crap. That hurts. However my genetic testing comes back, I’m still not going to fit in the binary; I’m still going to be always seen by a portion of the speaking and writing public as a freak…as someone who on some level is less than fully human.

    Cassandra, I don’t appreciate being called by male pronouns by you, and I don’t appreciate being called a liar by you either. You say you don’t hate me, but I feel hated by you after reading your words. If you don’t want to be perceived as a hater, perhaps you should avoid using language where you attack people you don’t know at all as being liars, and don’t use the same kind of language regarding sex and gender to trans people that the haters on the religious right use towards trans people.

    By the way, send your email address my e-address of autumn@phblend.com, and I’ll send you a copy of the test results when I get them … I’d like to know sooner, but I may not get the test results back until as late as January of next year (no med appt. scheduled until then). I don’t know how the results are going to come back, but I sure as hell am not going to lie about what the results are. If you want to see the source document, I’ll be happy to send you a copy of the results after I receive a copy of the testing.

  10. catkisser says:

    Autumn, your problem has always been your belief you and you alone speak from a position of authority on anything you involve yourself in. So much so you will resort to the same personal attacks you then complain about from others. You do not speak from any authority on anything Intersexed as you clearly are unaware that opinions within that community on identity issues and even which conditions are intersexed are in flux….and btw many Intersexed activists are of the opinion that Klienfelters is not an actual intersexed condition and at any rate, the vast majority of Klienfelters people have zero gender issues so you gain exactly zero in “validation” if you turn out to have it.

    You devoted an entire front page extended blog entry on Pam’s calling me a racist after you had banned me so I could not respond, then buried the 100+ comments on that one as well because a number of the commenters agreed you done me wrong.

    You utterly erased every comment, reply to comments and diary entry I made on Pams when you banned me, something that had never been done before or since and now claim I wasn’t banned for the Feminist positions I took even when you now are starting to embrace some of those positions yourself! I don’t believe for one second Pam’s claims that it was a software update gliche that cause my total erasure, not given my history with transgender abuse and oppression and censorship.

    Clean your own hands before you complain how others deal with you.

  11. […] here The TG like all men see the world in terms of heirachy. Essentially they are crossdressers, transvestites who don’t like that label so went looking up the ladder for transsexual, now they think they’ve erased that they have their sights set on intersex. Just watch as Autumn Sandeen leads the charge when he lies about his Kleinfelters test results and the mob follows suit. The TG wear these labels like fashion statements. They don’t care who they hurt, like all men they will seek to dominate and take up space, our space. OH no, not a second time, this time we resist. […]